Focus on sound

Ok, I’m a bit late on doing this. As a musician, you would think this would be a priority, however…

My actual focus so far was not to put myself off doing these videos, especially by making the process so time consuming. However…

Listening back at the various videos/posts so far, I felt that I really needed to do something.

A few months back I was fortunate to meet an amazing Spanish guitarist called Eduardo Niebla.

http://www.eduardoniebla.com/

I took part in a guitar retreat at the house of Eduardo Niebla, and found the whole experience incredibly rewarding. I was really beginning to concentrate on improving my playing at this time, and this retreat happenened at a perfect time. Not only is Eduardo an incredible musician, but he is also very warm, friendly and generous. The retreat itself, taking place inside their Yorkshire house, was very valuable in many ways, not the least of which was seeing inside the studio. 

On listening to Eduardo’s music I was struck by many things. I am particularly impressed by his understanding of rhythm, and how he manages to create beautiful music that seems closely linked to the rhythms he plays with, whether they are flamenco inspired, or Indian, or some other style. But I am also struck by the attention to detail inside the music. This is true of the music played, as well as the sonic qualities of the recordings.

The visit to the studio confirmed this attention to detail. If anyone has seen Eduardo’s guitar recording rig, it is a thing of beauty. I’m not sure of how much it would cost to create something like this, both in money and time to get all the elements working in just that way – the whole scale is beyond me. I love studios anyway, and am in awe of the magic done by engineers and producers when it comes to shaping sound, but to be inside the studio, and to be aware of how much work has gone into it’s creation felt very fortunate.

So, the point of this – to focus on sound. Most fingerstyle guitarists are obsessed by nails. Strings are also such an important factor. But now microphones … and placement … and preparing the recording space …

Hopefully this video’s experiment in sound will be worth the extra effort. It’s not great – I have a lot to learn, but as long as it’s getting better. I’ve decided that instead of making quick videos, I would make many of them until the process becomes quicker, while still getting the sound right. And then maybe the video quality … and then … Don’t worry I won’t post them all!

This week’s piece is another catch up. It’s a piece from Paco Pena’s student book Toques, and I think it’s a good place to learn some ‘pieces’, however contentious that idea may be for some flamenco enthusiasts. But more on that another time.

1 thought on “Focus on sound”

Leave a Reply

